Bookmark and Share

Musicology & Ethnomusicology Division

Maya Cunningham, MA program, Ethnomusicology
mayac@umd.edu
African diasporic musics in Latin America; West/Central African music; identity

 

Alexander Devereux, MA program, Musicology
devero@terpmail.umd.edu
music and narrative, 20th-century music, documentary genres

 

Sarah England, PhD program, Musicology
sengland@umd.edu
Harold Arlen, American popular music from the Golden Age of Song, race and gender studies

 

Nathanial Gailey-Schiltz, PhD program, Ethnomusicology
Japanese music, music and conflict, masculinity studies

 

Víctor Hernández-Sang, PhD program, Ethnomusicology
vmhers@umd.edu
Haiti and the Dominican Republic, music and migration, race relations

 

Benjamin Jackson, PhD program, Ethnomusicology
bjacks11@umd.edu
Jazz, music and social space, Argentina

 

Jennifer Kobuskie, PhD program, Musicology
kobuskie@umd.edu
20th-century music, American music, criticism

 

Elizabeth Massey, PhD program, Musicology
English popular ballads, the English Baroque, nationalism

 

Briana Nave, MA, program, Musicology
bnave@terpmail.umd.edu
Rock, music and identity, counterculture

 

Kevin O'Brien, PhD program, Musicology
obrienk@umd.edu
Christian sacred music of all eras, medieval and renaissance music, historically informed performance practice

 

Simon Polson, PhD program, Musicology
polson@umd.edu
chant; medieval liturgical music and practice; books and sources for the liturgy

 

Alice Rogers, PhD program, Ethnomusicology
aeroge@gmail.com
United States, music and protest, popular music

 

Rachel Ruisard, PhD program, Musicology
rruisard@umd.edu
Troubadour and trouvère song, orality and literacy, medieval court culture

 

William Donnie Scally, PhD program, Ethnomusicology
wdscally@umd.edu
Jazz, transnational musical practices, jazz and popular music historiography

 

Heyni Solera, MA program, Ethnomusicology
hys4@georgetown.edu
Tango, bandoneon, pedagogy, medical ethnomusicology

 

Victoria Visceglia, MA program, Ethnomusicology
victoriavisceglia@yahoo.com
American music, music and tourism, regional identity

 

Mariángel Villalobos, PhD program, Ethnomusicology
mvillalo@umd.edu
Central America, music and gender, music and migration

 

Meghan Walsh, MA program, Musicology
mwalsh14@terpmail.umd.edu
nineteenth-century Italian opera, twentieth-century American popular music

 

Maxwell Yamane, MA program, Ethnomusicology
yamanemh@terpmail.umd.edu
Powwows, Kiowa music, music and conflict

 

Xiaoshan (Ilsa) Yin, PhD program, Ethnomusicology
ilsayin@umd.edu
Chinese music: the guqin, music revival, transformation of tradition